Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
The facilities were excellent, staff very friendly and helpful and the location very handy to the historic centre, restaurants and shops. A very comfortable hotel, modern and well-thought out rooms.
The hotel staff were very helpful and extremely friendly in a relaxed natural manner. We had a boiler breakdown (no0 hot water) one morning and they were very apologetic and provided breakfast without charge. The rooms are a little tired - clean but carpet stains and chpped paintwork let them down.
Helpful staff. Free off-street parking. Caramel candies at the front desk. Free internet access.Free soft drinks in the minibar. Design of the lobby and guestroom. I thought the 19-euro price for breakfast was high, so we did not eat there.
The room was spacious and clean and the design was modern. Free internet and staff that was generally helpful.
A real find. An excellent hotel.
An excellent, clean, well run hotel with some nice touches close to everything!
Location / Staff / Breakfast served from 06.30am until 12 noon Have stayed before second visit.
This is a great place as a home base for touring around the South of France. It is clean and confortable and unique. It is within walking distance to Cours Mirabeau and provides free parking if you reserve it in advance. We were relieved as parking in Aix en Provence is a challenge.
The location is good and the room is clean & tidy.
The staff was courteous and helpful and responsive to special requests. The rooms were renovated and had wall TV and internet connections.
It was probably the best breakfast ever offered at any hotel I've stayed at in France. The waiting staff however, seemed a bit clueless - not noting all the used dishes stacking up on the tables and having to ask them to fill up the milk and hot water flasks. Also, a tramp followed us into the hotel one day, through the parking garage. He went straight to the garbage room and started raking around. When I mentioned this to hotel staff, they said they were aware of it and allowed him to do this. Although he seemed harmless, I felt this innapropriate in terms of the access he had to the cars and also that he could gain directly into the hotel!
Friendly staff, easy access, perfect location and nice, spacious room with kitchenette - in my opinion the perfect choice for exploring Aix-en-Provence
Very well located, close to the city center and all the shopping and restaurants. Has its own parking lot so you don't have to worry about not having any place to park. The hotel staff was nice enough to help us make a few calls for restaurant reservations. The room is quite sizable for Europe's standards. The room was okay clean and average, don't expect too much. There's only one elevator and so it's super slow and it smells bad.
excellent location: most of staff very helpful only provide 1 roll of toilet paper per stay and do not provide automatic dish washer soap: need to buy both at market:
Idea of having our own kitchen facilities and its location Although I booked well in advance and requested both - the lack of a double bed and no smoking apartment on our arrival. The lack of any housekeeping for a 6 night stay when you get daily service for less than 3 night stay. having to empty our own bins.
The location was great. The suite was very well equipped with cooking utensils, drying rack for clothes, blankets, dishes etc. It was quiet and comfortable. It was good value. Convenient to supermarket.
Got in after reception closed and had to have taxi driver call for instructions on how to get in room.
it's better to making your own meal in your room because it's very hard to find one interesting restaurant in town. I have to wash all cooking appliances. They all kinda dirty,and got a lot of stain.
close to city center,friendly staff,good facilities, Nothing at all
Personnel was friendly Not clean (bathrooms); there was mildew all around the sink and the shower head was about to come out of the the wall. Towels were not the cleanest either. There was hair everywhere.
Great location, good for a weekend visit to Aix en Provence, or longer. Cooking facilities in the room were excellent, as was the manner of the staff of the reception desk. The corridors of the hotel are in desperate need of refurbishment.
Friendly and helpfull stuff. We had booked a double room and asked an extra bed for our daughter. The reception clerk warned us that room might be small for three of us and offered much bigger room with small extra charge which we accepted. Satisfactory breakfast. Excellent location. Needs renovation but not a big problem.
I appreciate that Hotel staff gave us very precise information about restaurant. Our family enjoyed those restaurants very much. There was a mosquito which bugging us during the night. That was one drawback...
very central to the town centre. thought the hotel was quite basic for a 3 star hotel, would have expected a nicer breakfast for 9 euros
The hotel is close to the city centre and to the Bus Station. Room was very small, especially the bathroom. Disturbing noise during the night from external and also from heating system. Bathroom facilities (WC, fan) not working well. Towels had a bad smell.
The room should have a mirror and the glass of all the windows should be cleaner. I would recommend it with reserves.
cleanliness and comfort
1.) Good quality breakfast buffet. (but the most expensikve one of all 4 star hotels I know). 2.) Komfortble parking facilities. No, nothing that could not be taken care of at the desk.
Very clean and comfortable. The facility is good and good location. It's convenient to reach the downtown area. No.
The location Did not like the restaurant staff. One waitress was very, very rude.
Comfort, location, free internet.
Conveniently located for visiting Aix. The staff was very gracious and our request for a quiet room was fulfilled. The room seemed small for a 'luxe' hotel and the window was also small and placed high which contributed to the claustiphoic feel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
The hotel has recently been renovated and was very clean and comfortable. The staff was generally good to excellent. There were not enough personnel at Reception when checking in and checking out. Epsecially when there are tour groups at the hotel, it is essential to increase taffing at the Reception desk.
Efficient and pleasant service. Nice swimming pool. Good, if slightly expensive, breakfast. Comfortable bed and bathroom.
no bath although one was requested-room smelt of smoke ,although non smoking requested-when mentioned to reception told that they were full and nothing could be done
this hotel is not up to your usual standards difficult to find, facilities not good and not value for money
At the heart of the city therefore great location. Good hotel for the price we paid. Double glazing so you don't hear a sound on the street which is hard to find in central hotels
Excellent location (if a little difficult to find) and if you want a genuine Provencal experience (in other words if you hate Hilton style country anonymous hotels) this is a great choice. Donlt be put off by lack of parking as there is loads of new parking (follow signs to Rotunda parking) within an easy 3 minutes walk of the hotel. It is very noisy outside all day and all night but well worth it for the setting and for being the heart of what is happening. Bring ear plugs and enjoy it.
The location was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The overall look and feel of the hotel is dingy. The window in the room provided very little light, and there was no window in the bathroom. The shower had a brown spot on the floor and we didn't feel comfortable using it.
Location of hotel was excellent in a small square just off the Cours de Mirabeau. Hotel is currently being renovated so a lot of restorative work. Our room was perhaps a little "tired". Parking in Aix is rather expensive
Location, location, location. Located steps from the main street, Cours Mirabeau, but on a little plaza with wonderful restaurants and night life. Windows were modern and closed out all sound when needing to rest. Staff was most helpful. Air conditioning malfunctioned while I was there, was unable to cool room during fairly warm weather. Notified front desk, but unit was not repaired in the week I was there. Other coworkers attending the same conference had no such problems, however.
The location was perfect to explore te old part of Aix-en-Provence Time allocated for breakfast was very limiting
Wonderfully located old hotel with a charm of its own; a gem in the most "happening" place at Rue Espariat in Aix. Within walking distance to historical sites, markets, tourist information centre and eateries. Thank you to the reception and hotel staff who were very helpful, friendly and obliging. As I was visiting Aix with my mother, the location of the hotel is exceptionally good for those who can't walk the distance. I will definitely come back for another stay. Don't expect much of the interior of the hotel and the rooms-basic comfort as this is an old hotel,soak up the old charm. The location and wonderful hotel staff makes up for everything.
Location in the center of Aix. The room should have a safe.
the stuff was very nice and friendly.
Good position of the hotel
Good clean room reasonable size with refridgerator, staff very helpful, parking excellent and nice pool Charged extr for pool towels, and to use the spa
The room allocated at the first it smelled badly, thus, I asked change the room.
Central, not expensive considering the location Our booking had been lost when I called to find out about car parking, but apparently it turned up later in the day
Very Central Located! Clean room The hairdryer was old and didnt work very well. No good shampoo and body wash.
Spatial room (403). Courteous service. Central location. No.
The location was excellent being in the heart of the old area and near areas of interest. The parking was very convenient. The hotel and room was clean. The hotel was warn. It can use a makeover.
big clean room, in the center of aix. big bathroom. When I'm on a business trip I need wireless internet. They didn't have complimentary wifi and that is a big minus for me.
location shoddy, poor quality facilities, hairdryer hanging off wall
It is an attractive, classic hotel with lots of atmosphere, right in the heart of an interesting city, and next to the old town, near many restaurants and brasseries and a good market. There was no wifi in the room (although there was a computer with internet access in the lobby) and no hand towels were provided, just big bath towels.
The Saint Christophe is a great value, excellent location to Aix and transportation. Very pleasant and accommodating staff. Nothing
Great location, clean and well maintained Cramped room Internet went out for 3 days and nothing was done to mitigate the impacts of the outage, that can range from nothing to a lost of business due to inability to communicate as expected. Not worth what was paid
Room was to a very high standard, very centrally located and although on a busy road, the two windows with double glazing kept the sound out. Some of the staff were a bit rude but all staff provided the service they are meant to.
Nice and clean, reasonable value for money. only stayed one night and no complaints, it was perhaps a little noisy in our room next to the street, but it really wasn't that bad
Location Poor sound insulation
Excellent location, V. short walk to the Cours Mirabeau and the main sights. Friendly receptionist, and nice big rooms for the price. Decent value for money. Nothing to major, if being picky the bathroom could have done with a shower curtain.
Perfect location for us: close to the thermal spa, not far from the Cours Mirabeau and tourist office, delicious restaurant 5 minutes away (Le Petit Verdot). Friendly and helpful front desk staff.
Great location and good sized room overlooking the amphitheatre. We decided to change the room, which the staff were very accomodating in doing so. Good breakfast and hotel facilities.
The hotel staff was particularly very nice and the location is great.
Very friendly staff and the central location. 1) No single hook in the bathroom. 2) We got exactly the same breakfast during the 5 days of our stay which was served on a tray (no buffet). 3) No lift. 4) No single English TV channel (minor disadvantage)
Excellent in every way. On arrival receptionist was wonderful - happy and helpful. Very comfortable hotel and in such a great location - couldnt be better. We stayed on for a fourth night because we liked it so much We honestly couldnt find any bad points. However, we think your website does not do justice to your hotel. It was because of guest reviews that made us decide to book the hotel
location and large room entrance to hotel - stairs are very tired and stained
It's located center of the vill and close to bus stop of T.G.V.,,,but calm. When I reserved this hotel , I noticed that there is under renovation. Because you said so. First night It's old room, we were not comfortable. So, next day I asked so. They changed to new one. We are very appreciate .
Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Very central...brilliant location, yet not noisy.
Hotel close to the old district, shopping etc. The staff was very good and helpful.
Its location, reception the staff were very helpfull and pleasant
Very good location! Very near to the city center The Garage is to small and is impossible to get out the car!!!! In a garage where could stay only 5 car tre were 12!!!
Great front desk! Not enough electrical outlets. The one in the bathroom hooked to the hair dryer didn't work. Only one outlet in bedroom.
Friendly staff, clean, reliable services. Excellent value and location. Breakfast service was lacking. Old coffee, no table service, had to wait for fresh croissants. For the price it was correct but lacked appeal.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace was wonderful.
Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff and very good value for money None
The friendly staff
Central,clean,staff competent.I Asked if we could buy one of the bath towels as it was of a type my husband likes but can't find in England, and the manageress made us a present of it - nice gesture. Hoped for double bed but got twin beds - however,we only booked the night before and were lucky to get a room.Hotel garage had no space,although I had booked it. However, staff directed us to local parking at similar price. Room was on busy street with uneven road surface,very noisy. Rather expensive.The lift is tiny.
This is a hotel and should not be classified as a hostel.
The staff was delightful, helpful in finding the best restaurants, suggesting the best route to our next location, overall for 2 non French speaking tourist just wonderful. Also loved our room! They need to explain on the web how to access the hotel by car if you're driving as the road is accessible of you know to ask to enter and also how to call for access to the side road, barriers do lower to allow for access.
Amazing experience! Rooms are huge and really cutting edge design. Great living room to use and spa facilities. only 4 rooms so very intimate. Breakfast a great experience. I would go back in a second. location cannot be beat. No kleenex in room. There was Wifi throughout but no computer to use.
A totally unique experience. Amazing modern design interior of a 300 year old building. Superb public room and only 4 guest suites.
Everything from the location, to the staff, to the breakfast, to the kitchen, to the room, to the modern amenities, to the free WiFi, to the compact but well-equipped spa were great. Highly recommended. There should be a small sign outside the building with the name of the hotel
Everything is set up to provide total comfort. The private spa is beautiful, the kitchen is amazing, and the whole house feels just like that--like a house, not a hotel.We will be talking about our experience at Maison d'Aix for years to come.
Very comfortable hotel in a brilliant location in a lovely town
Excellent location, a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau. Helpful & welcoming staff. Reservation honored at the rate quoted. Rooms are somewhat small, but the hotel is in an old, but beautiful historic building.
The Staff where very helpful, a excellent location for the town There was no room service, nor tea/coffee available in room. The bathroom was clean but in need of refunishment , the sheets clean bed comfortable , but carpet was in need of a good clean
The breakfast was very fresh and the rooms were fine - nothing too glamourous but a great view! The rooms were looking a little dated and tatty but it was fine overall - nothing was broken (although a shower curtain would have been welcome). It did take some time for someone to come and unlock the front door when we returned from a meal out (just after midnight).
Nice building, nice staff, good location too small room, basic services for the price
Charming hotel Super location. Friendly staff. Have stayed here before and would again .We were upgraded to a wonderful chamber de luxe
The room was fantastic - comfortable, cosy, great interior design, very quaint. It felt like a luxury B&B. The location was great too - right on the Cours Mirabeau. Our room had a standing bathtub with no shower curtains. While it looked nice, it was woefully impractical. Every time we took a shower, the bathroom floor would get completely flooded. We felt really sorry for the poor cleaning lady!
The location and the food at their restaurant. The hotel plays second banana to their restaurant. all the hotel employees are always in bad mood and complaining about the lack of interest by the owner. there was no tv when we arrived and the stairs were twice or more higher than we were told.
Rooms are large and beautiful. Everyone is accomadating but it is really a restaurant with rooms above it. There is little service and rooms on the front are very noisy. The help did anything we asked for in the way of reservations and information but all is done while serving the restaurant patrons. Quirky and charming.
central location, quiet courtyard room, attractive room, great bath!
the staff was polite & helpful. the location of the hotel is superb, and puts you in the center of all the energy that is aix=en-provence. no negatives. everything was fine.
When we first arrived we thought because there was a noisy restaurant on the main street that we had made a mistake. The hotel is actually in back of the restaurant across a pretty courtyard and is very quiet. Our room was beautifully decorated including some 18th century antiques. We also had cable TV including BBC. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gare/bus station.
The location was excellent. I have stayed here twice and the first room I stayed in was so lovely and charming, the second not as much, with a very small toilet and a slightly more dated feel. They do have nice touches, like bathrobes and comfortable beds. The service left a bit to be desired. It would have been great if they had some movie options on the television.
As many of the earlier travelers already said. This is a hotel attached to a busy restaurant. As a hotel, service is almost non-existent. But give its great location and the price, you can't really complaint too much. You get want you paid for, that is a great location. The food at the restaurant looked good, but we did not try.
Location at the heart of Aix en Provence. Close to all shopping, restaurants and the Art Museum. It became quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, as the hotel is on Cours Mirabeau and has a large restaurant just below the windows.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Bastide Du Cours and it was everything we'd read about. We were looking for a city hotel,close to shopping and amenities and the hotel provides that. It was serviced daily, the restaurant was very good and staff helpful. We will definately stay again when next in Aix. They need to ensure that leftover foodtrays dont lie on the floor of an annexe room for all hotel guests to see on passing.
The Bathroom was very modern compared to the room. The room was basically a bed. Comfortable but tiny.
Location excellent, close to train and bus stations as well as historic sites, restaurants and shopping. Price very reasonable, given location. Room was small in comparison to those in other two star hotels and walls of room needed re-painting or cleaning.
Friendly & accomodating staff, nice breakfast room, very good location, parking worked out well; updated bath room was fine. Floor rug was stained and dirty; room and simple but adequate furniture needed painting; furniture and drapery actually needed a good cleanng; bath linens were "washed out".With some effort,not even great expense, this could be a very good place.
Very nice classic French style decoration. Nice bedroom floor plan. No elevator. The new bathroom is modern style, not classic style like the bedroom and hotel. So, it should have the same style.
It is very close to the centre of town. The bathroom was excellent. The room was clean althought the floor is very old and doesn't look very good. The bed cover was dirty along the bottom, and the bedding seemed really old.
I had a basic single room, buyt it had fresh furnishings, with wall TV. Clean bathroom, good value breakfast, great location - 20 mins from bus; 10 mins from railway; 5 mins from township. Only one minor issue - the bed needs a new mattress.
Small hotel, quiet neighborhood, friendly staff. Easy walk from train and bus station. Stayed 7 days. Small room but OK if you havn't a lot of luggage and stuff.... No elevator, but staff available to help if needed.